Top Ten Tuesday – Favorite Non-Fantasy Books
Top Ten Tuesday / June 4, 2019

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme by That Artsy Reader Girl.This feature gives a weekly Top Ten list. We all love lists, right? I am modifying this weeks theme a bit because it asked for top 10 books of your favorite genre, but since so much of my blog is devoted to Fantasy, I decided to mix it up and list out 10 of my favorite non-Fantasy books…. of course some of these may be a bit of fantasy as well, but their predominant genre would be something else. And I won’t commit that these are my absolute favorite top 10, because well, I know I will think of books later that I wished I had included. That’s just the way it goes. But these are 10 of my favorite non-fantasy (which means for me they are all either horror or science fiction since I don’t read much else)

Top 5 Tuesday – Top 5 Sequels I Need to Read
Top 5 Tuesday / April 30, 2019

A weekly meme hosted by Bionic Book Worm where we list 5 books for the given topic. We all love lists, right? Top 5 Sequels I Need to Read I hate when I think back on a book and know I loved it, but realize somehow I let the sequel go by unread. This is a list of my top 5 and it is definitely in order of how I am prioritizing them. Right now I am hoping to get to the first one in the next month or so (I have been in a reading slump, and this is one of my largest regrets reading (or rather not reading) wise.

Top Ten Tuesday – 2018 Shame List (or Books I mean to read last year but didn’t)
Top Ten Tuesday / January 22, 2019

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme by That Artsy Reader Girl.This feature gives a weekly Top Ten list. We all love lists, right? This week’s theme is Books I Meant to Read In 2018 but Didn’t Get To I feel like this week is a bit of a walk of shame, and airing of all I didn’t accomplish. But at the same time its a great chance for me to revisit and recognize the books I REALLY did want to read, but that pesky time factor  and real life just got in the way.   (listed in no particular order) Let me know which of these you’d read first, and feel free to share your missed books from last year as well!

Top 5 Tuesday – Top 5 Books I Didn’t Get To In 2018
Top 5 Tuesday / December 11, 2018

A weekly meme hosted by Bionic Book Worm where we list 5 books for the given topic. We all love lists, right? Top 5 Books I Didn’t Get To In 2018 So, this has admittedly been a slower than normal year for me reading wise. That means the number of books I haven’t gotten to that I REALLY REALLY wish I had is bigger. When making this list, I noticed all my top choices were subsequent books in series I’ve already started and love. I think maybe that’s because I am familiar enough with it to know what I’m missing by not having read them yet. I know I loved the initial books, so I just feel I’m missing out even more than a completely new to me author/series.   What are the books you most regret not finding the time to read this year?

Stacking the Shelves – July 22, 2018
Stacking the Shelves / July 22, 2018

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly feature all about sharing your good luck in book acquisitions! So here’s what came my way since my last post! It’s been another couple of great weeks for book additions! Received for Review While I have to confess to falling behind on my reading, I did have a number of books show up that I’m really excited to get to. I also really need to do these posts more often 😀   Many thanks to Tor Books for the following for arrivals. I’m really excited about all of them (I already read and enjoyed Starless, and have begun reading both Mystic Dragon (I really enjoyed the first in this series, so have high hopes) and The Calculating Stars), and am really looking forward to Drop by Drop.       This one sounds really intriguing. My thanks to DAW books for the copy! This was a surprise arrival that was not on my radar at all previously, but it sounds really exciting and I’ve been craving a good thriller lately. Many thanks to Twelve! Super excited to get a chance to start this as I have enjoyed the rest of the Wayfarer series. Many thanks…

Review: A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers
4 Stars , Reviews / July 20, 2017

A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers is more of an emotional journey rather than the space adventure we had in the first book. This book can easily work as a stand alone, even though both of the two main characters are also from Long Way to a Small Angry Planet. Lovelace used to be a ship’s AI, and if you read Long Way to a Small Angry Planet, you know she has some very humanizing characteristics. In this book, she is adjusting to life outside the ship, in a body of her own. She is transitioning to being an individual, and though she has had her memory wiped and does not remember time before, she inherently relates to being an AI versus being a human. Since the “kit” (a very realistic synthetic body) she was downloaded to is highly illegal, it is incredibly important she pass for human. Funnily enough, one of the things that makes this harder is she was programmed to never lie. So, living a charade without technically telling a lie, it’s not easy. She befriends Pepper, the engineer whiz from Book 1 that downloaded her consciousness  to her new body (not that she remembers this)….

Review: The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers
5 Stars , Reviews / September 6, 2015

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet commanded my complete attention from the very beginning, and was a book that I longed to continue reading any time real life got diverted me from its pages. Rosemary Harper is the newest crew mate for The Wayfarer. Her past is a bit mysterious, but you quickly learn she is bright and a hard worker. You can’t help but wonder about her motivation for joining a long haul mission when she’s never served as crew on a ship before, even short haul. But when you meet the crew of The Wayfarer, that quickly gets brushed to the side,  because really, who wouldn’t want to work with the set of people? The Wayfarer is a patchwork ship (literally as mish mash pieces  all slapped together inside and out) consisting of a diverse crew that is really just incredibly fun. In the beginning, the crew dynamics couldn’t help but remind me of Retribution Falls, however as I continued to read, I quickly realized that this was (no disrespect to RF which I loved)  a more sophisticated/worldly book than that. This book is very character driven, but through those characters and their relationships and interactions, the…