Stacking the Shelves – April 2, 2017

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly feature all about sharing your good luck in book acquisitions! So here’s what came my way since my last post!

It’s been another couple of great weeks for book additions!

Received for Review

 

The Waking Land by Callie Bates – This is one of my most anticipated debuts, with rebellion, divided loyalty and murder charges. Many thanks to Del Rey!

Swarm and Steel by Michael R. Fletcher  – So I am a bit behind with this series, but this is a new stand alone that can be read independent, so I am really looking forward to checking it out. My thanks to Talos and the author!

Godblind by Anna Stephens – So the desciption of this starts out with “For fans of Joe Abercrombie, Scott Lynch, and Mark Lawrence comes a brutal grimdark fantasy debut of dark gods and violent warriors.” – Uh, yes!! Of course I want to read this! My thanks to Talos!

Collapsing Empire by John Scalzi – I have found Scalzi’s books make great audiobooks and I’ve heard some great reviews for this one. Many thanks to Audible Studios for the review copy!

The generous folks at Pyr sent a couple of ARCs my way as well. I have to catch up with both of these series before I can read these, but I have heard good things for both series, so look forward to checking them out. Many thanks to Pyr!

 

Giveaway Wins

You know all those great giveaways that Tor.com has? Well if you don’t, you should keep your eye out for them. I happened to win the Emma Newman prize pack with a total of 7 of her books! I read and loved Planetfall, so I’m looking forward to checking out more of work.

 

Purchases

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston – I have been in a little bit of a reading slump lately, and while I have a ton of review books to choose from, I just couldn’t find one that seemed to be calling my name. Every person I know who has read this has loved it, and it just seemed perfect for my mood. (Turns out I was right, I listened to most of it yesterday, and look forward to hopefully finishing it today. Absolutely LOVING it!!)

You may also like...

11 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves – April 2, 2017”

  1. Nice acquisitions. I’ve been thinking of trying Scalzi after hearing good stuff about his books. And glad the Valiant is turning out well.

    Congrats on the giveaway win also!
    Greg recently posted…Sunday Post #188My Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

%d bloggers like this: