Top Ten Tuesday – Top 10 Backlist Book on my TBR
Top Ten Tuesday / July 30, 2019

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme by That Artsy Reader Girl.This feature gives a weekly Top Ten list. We all love lists, right? This week’s theme is a Freebie, and I found myself lately thinking more about the backlist books I want to read, so I decided it was the perfect time to highlight them.

Top Ten Tuesday – First 10 Books I Reviewed
Top Ten Tuesday / April 23, 2019

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme by That Artsy Reader Girl.This feature gives a weekly Top Ten list. We all love lists, right? This week’s theme is  (First Ten) Books I Reviewed (These do not have to be formal reviews. A small sentence on a retailer site or Goodreads counts, too! Submitted by Rissi @ Finding Wonderland) This list is quite the throwback to 2013. I actually was surprised to really think about that and realize I’ve been reviewing for 6 years because it often feels like I’m still “new” at this. This list has a number of books that are still favorites to this day, a couple where I am not sure I would rate quite the same if I were to review them now and some that still deserve more attention.

Throwback Thursday – Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho
Throwback Thursday / February 7, 2019

Welcome to my first installment of Throwback Thursday, a feature to highlight books from the past. It can honestly be anything as long as its not a book that is a current release. Maybe its a book that I read and reviewed and just want to highlight, or maybe its a book that has a sequel coming out soon or maybe its a backlist book that I just want revisit and decide if I will make the time to read. This week’s choice is Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho. The sequel, The True Queen, is releasing March 2019, so this is the perfect time to revisit. Sorcerer to the Crown is a Fantasy of Manners, where women were deemed “too weak” to handle magic. So if a magical ability manifests in a woman, it is an undesirable she is taught to suppress it. Golly gee, can’t have a woman with magic, she might lose control! So, no surprise, our protagonist manifests powers and is sent to what is like a group home for wayward women (aka women with magic) where they are taught to be proper, respectable ladies and suppress their magical ability. Enter Prunella, who couldn’t be more perfect for the role. I love Prunella, she finds…

Top Ten Tuesday – Most Recent Additions to Mt. TBR
Top Ten Tuesday / January 29, 2019

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme by That Artsy Reader Girl.This feature gives a weekly Top Ten list. We all love lists, right? This week’s theme is January 29: The Ten Most Recent Additions to My To-Read List So, this one was easy. I just sorted Goodreads by Date Added, filtered out a couple I know have been on their longer, but sometimes the dates wind up wonky if I change the status or add a tag like ‘2019-release’. Anyway, here it is, the last 10 books I added. There seems to be a good mix of stuff in here:

Spotlight: The Mortal World plus Invisible Library Series Giveaway
Blog Tour , Giveaway / November 15, 2018

Today I’m happy to spotlight an upcoming release, The Mortal Word by Genevieve Cogman.  I’ve heard so many great things about this series, which has time-traveling, dimension-jumping, librarian spies?! I so look forward to reading it myself. Plus: LOOK AT THAT COVER! I love it (and the animated version is extra fun). And as an added bonus, be sure to enter The Invisible Library Series Giveaway (Giveaway open to US residents, runs until November 23, 2018)       ABOUT THE MORTAL WORD In the latest novel in Genevieve Cogman’s historical fantasy series, the fate of worlds lies in the balance. When a dragon is murdered at a peace conference, time-travelling Librarian spy Irene must solve the case to keep the balance between order, chaos…and the Library. When Irene returns to London after a relatively straightforward book theft in Germany, Bradamant informs her that there is a top secret dragon-Fae peace conference in progress that the Library is mediating, and that the second-in-command dragon has been stabbed to death. Tasked with solving the case, Vale and Irene immediately go to 1890s Paris to start their investigation. Once they arrive, they find evidence suggesting that the murder victim might have uncovered proof…

Top Ten Tuesday: Hidden Gems
Top Ten Tuesday / September 11, 2018

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme by That Artsy Reader Girl.This feature gives a weekly Top Ten list. We all love lists, right? This week’s theme is : Hidden Gems (which books haven’t been talked about as much or haven’t been marketed as strongly that you think deserve some recognition?)

Spotlight: Phoenix Unbound plus Romantic Fantasy Starter Kit GIVEAWAY
Giveaway / September 4, 2018

Today I’m happy to spotlight an upcoming release, Phoenix Unbound by Grace Draven. I really enjoyed this one (which I devoured in a weekend). My review will go up a bit closer to release, but in the mean time, check out the description, plus, enter the giveaway for a Romantic Fantasy Starter Kit!! (Giveaway open to US residents) A woman with power over fire and illusion and an enslaved son of a chieftain battle a corrupt empire in this powerful and deeply emotional romantic fantasy from the USA Today bestselling author of Radiance. Every year, each village is required to send a young woman to the Empire’s capital–her fate to be burned alive for the entertainment of the masses. For the last five years, one small village’s tithe has been the same woman. Gilene’s sacrifice protects all the other young women of her village, and her secret to staying alive lies with the magic only she possesses. But this year is different. Azarion, the Empire’s most famous gladiator, has somehow seen through her illusion–and is set on blackmailing Gilene into using her abilities to help him escape his life of slavery. Unknown to Gilene, he also wants to reclaim the birthright of his clan….

Hot off the Press! New SFF Releases for April 4, 2017
New Releases / April 4, 2017

Curious what new books are releasing? I am highlighting the new releases that caught my eye for this week. Let me know if you see anything new, interesting or any must reads! I am sure I missed some worthy books as well, so please feel free the share!   FANTASY          SCIENCE FICTION           HORROR   FANTASY                       SCIENCE FICTION       HORROR       FANTASY           SCIENCE FICTION           HORROR