Review: Foundryside by Robert Jackson Bennett
4 Stars , Reviews / December 24, 2018

I want to start this by clearly stating Foundryside was a very enjoyable read. I was pulled into the story within the first page because it starts strong and I was immediately curious and captivated by Sancia, a thief in the middle of a complicated job. The strengths of this book get ramped up more as we learn about what she stole, and get to know not just more about it, but to know it as well. It turns out the item she was sent to steal not only puts a price on her head, but it becomes a bit sentient, as well as and has quite an amusing personality. She takes to calling it Clef, because if you exchange words/thoughts with a thing, it makes sense it should have a name. As much as I really did enjoy this book, I feel like I am forever destined to just not love books by Robert Jackson Bennett quite as much as everyone else. My reading experience with him seems to be that I can without a doubt recognize the books are well written and understand why people love them the way they do. But there always seems to be one…

Stacking the Shelves – November 10, 2018
Stacking the Shelves / November 10, 2018

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly feature all about sharing your good luck in book acquisitions! So here’s what came my way since my last post! It’s been another couple of great weeks for book additions! Received for Review I was really excited about both of these arrivals from Tor. The Traitor Baru Cormorant was really good, so I’m definitely looking forward to the sequel. And City of Broken Magic sounds like a fun read. Many thanks to Tor! … …   These were both surprise arrivals from Harper Voyager. I’d not heard of Vita Nostra before, but that amazing cover got my attention immediately, and reading the synopsis, I am excited about it! I have some catching up to do before I can read Shattered Sun, but I have heard good things about the series. My thanks to Harper Voyager! … … A couple more surprise arrivals. Mage Against the Machine sounds like it could be a fun and exciting book, plus, look at that cover!! (It’s even more impressive in real life). My thanks to Saga Press for the review copy! And Astounding is a non-fiction look at science fiction, which sounds like to could be interesting if I’m…

Friday Firsts – Foundryside by Robert Jackson Bennett
Friday Firsts / November 2, 2018

Friday Firsts is a new meme that will run every Friday here on Tenacious Reader. It will feature the first few sentences/paragraph of my current book and my first impressions as well. It’s meant to be a quick and easy way to share a bit about what I am reading, and I would love to hear others join in sharing their current reads as well. As Sancia Grado lay facedown in the mud, stuffed underneath the wooden deck next to the old stone wall, she reflected that this evening was not going at all as she had wanted. It had started out decently. She’d used her forged identifications to make it onto the Michiel property, and that had gone swimmingly—the guards at the first gates had barely glanced at her. Then she’d come to the drainage tunnel, and that had gone…less swimmingly. It had worked, she supposed—the drainage tunnel had allowed her to slink below all the interior gates and walls and get close to the Michiel foundry—but her informants had neglected to mention the tunnel’s abundance of centipedes, mud adders, and shit, of both the human and equine variety. Sancia hadn’t liked it, but she could handle it. That had not…

Stacking the Shelves – May 6, 2018
Stacking the Shelves / May 6, 2018

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly feature all about sharing your good luck in book acquisitions! So here’s what came my way since my last post! Wow, I went way too long without doing a Stacking the Shelves!! These are all the wonderful additions since last time! Received for Review                                   Both of these books from Harper Voyager look amazing! I’ve wanted to try Feist, and this new series looks like a great chance. And I have started The Poppy War and am so in love with this book so far! So many thanks to Harper Voyager!                               Pyr, as always, was great to me again. I am admittedly a bit horrible about making time to read short fiction but am hoping I get a chance to read some of the stories from the Nebula Awards showcase. And Blood Orbit sounds great! My thanks to Pyr!     I received a couple of interesting looking thrillers from Quercus. One looks to be a fourth in series, so not sure if I…

Review: City of Blades by Robert Jackson Bennett
3.5 Stars , Reviews / April 7, 2016

For fans of City of Stairs, I think you’ll be happy with this next installment. Particularly if you were a fan of Mulagesh. I myself just wasn’t quite as into it. I know it feels like everyone has loved this book. And by all means, I think the writing is solid. But I struggled to get into the beginning. Honestly, my reaction was that it felt like a lot of info dumping and detective work (have I mentioned I generally don’t care for detective stories). Maybe it was my mood and and/or the story set up. Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t dislike it, but I just couldn’t feel the love. Another thing I noticed was that I liked Shara from the first book more than I enjoyed Mulagesh in this one. Mulagesh is forced out of retirement and given an assignment to find a missing person. This mission takes her to a broken city where the Drillings are working to restore order. There are definitely some interesting things going on including a mysterious ore, and gruesome murders. There are questions about what is acceptable when in a state of war.  There is much to like in this book, and I fully acknowledge that and completely…

City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett
4 Stars , Reviews / November 11, 2014

So, here it is. What seems to be the most talked about book of, if not the year, at least the season. I have had Robert Jackson Bennett on my list of authors I must try, and am quite glad to finally have read one of his books. That said, I also want to disclose that even though I love fantasy, the premise of this book was not as intriguing to me as many of his other works. I am not typically that taken with crime books, so I have to confess it took about 5 or 6 tries for me to essentially get through the first scene of this book (it starts in a courtroom). I don’t know, I think its just a mental problem on my part. But eventually I persevered, and got past it. Keep in mind, I don’t suspect many will have any issues with that first scene, but for me, any book that opens in a courtroom seems to be at a disadvantage in maintaining my interest. But, luckily, the story does not stay in the courtroom, and as long as it took me to get through it, I have to admit there is a…