Guest Post: Jessie Mihalik Shares Five Books Featuring Her Favorite Rebellious Characters
Guest Post , Lists / February 8, 2019

Today I am happy to welcome Jessie Mihalik to Tenacious Reader. I loved her book Polaris Rising, which just released this week (if you missed my thoughts on it, be sure to check out my review). One of the things I loved about  Polaris Rising is the rebellious nature of Ada (the protagonist), so I’m excited to have Jessie join us to day to list 5 books featuring her favorite rebellious characters. Five Books Featuring My Favorite Rebellious Characters By Jessie Mihalik I love rebellious characters. From the quiet rebellion of a hidden secret or a forbidden love to the in-your-face rebellion of a character working to shatter the status quo, rebels drive plots and keep pages turning. Here are five SF/F books featuring my favorite rebellious characters. All Systems Red is a tale of a rogue security android who has overridden its governor module and dubbed itself Murderbot. Rather than going on a murdering rampage, though, Murderbot would much rather watch hours and hours of entertainment videos while nominally keeping its human charges alive—not because it particularly cares for them, but just so it doesn’t get recalled and scrapped. Unfortunately for it, someone wants the humans dead, and Murderbot must rouse itself to…

2019 New SFF Series and Standalones
Lists / January 8, 2019

Alright, it’s somehow already 2019! So, I decided I should make a list of the New Series and Standalones for the year. It’s pretty much impossible to get all the books on these lists, so here is a good sampling of ones I’m excited for. Please feel free to leave ones I’ve not included in the comments. I apologize for the mish-mash order. I usually try to group them better or organize by release date or genre, but the new WordPress is not my friend right now, and I decided I’d rather post than spend the time sorting the list with the new block style that is not as easy to just move chunks at a time (Yes, I can easily move blocks, but each book has about 4 blocks that are not easy to move all together)   Gods meddle in the fates of men, men play with the fates of gods, and a pretender must be cast down from the throne in this breathtaking first fantasy novel from Ann Leckie, New York Times bestselling author and winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke Awards. For centuries, the kingdom of Iraden has been protected by the god…

2017 New SFF Series and Standalones
Lists / December 12, 2016

Once again, it’s time to look ahead and get excited for what the new year has in store for us. Here’s a list of upcoming releases that I think are worth keeping track of, all either first and series or standalones. I read predominantly Fantasy, particularly epic fantasy, and my list definitely reflects that. This list wound up twice as long as I aimed for, and I know there are still more great books coming out not listed.   Looking forward to something you don’t see on the list? Share it in the comments!   EPIC FANTASY         FANTASY          SCIENCE FICTION           HORROR   EPIC FANTASY       Sins of Empire by Brian McClellan An epic new fantasy series from Brian McClellan, set in the same world as his wildly popular Powder Mage trilogy. The young nation of Fatrasta is a turbulent place – a frontier destination for criminals, fortune-hunters, brave settlers, and sorcerers seeking relics of the past. Only the iron will of the lady chancellor and her secret police holds the capital city of Landfall together against the unrest of a suppressed population and the machinations of powerful empires. The insurrection that threatens Landfall must be…

New Series or Standalones to Look For in 2016
Lists / December 17, 2015

During this season of List Making and Anticipation for the year to come, I really enjoy focusing on the books that anyone can jump into. This means brand new series and standalone novels that don’t require previous reading. As always, there are many great books to look forward to! I tried to mark if the book is a standalone or the start of a new series, but I’ll be honest, it’s not always easy to tell and sometimes books that are initially offered as a standalone wind up getting follow up book deals. For those interested in seeing a list of everything I am currently looking forward to, you can see my running list of 2016 Anticipated Releases that is updated through out the year as I hear of books and release dates. Its nothing fancy, just a list of dates and titles with links to reviews when I have them.   NEW STANDALONE The bestselling author of the ground breaking novels Under Heaven and River of Stars, Guy Gavriel Kay is back with a new novel, Children of Earth and Sky, set in a world inspired by the conflicts and dramas of Renaissance Europe. Against this tumultuous backdrop the lives…

14 Favorites of 2014
Lists / December 28, 2014

I love reading Best of Lists, but making them can be quite hard. Here’s my list of favorites from 2014 broken down by subgenre. FAVORITE HORROR     FAVORITE SCIENCE FICTION   FAVORITE FANTASY   FAVORITE FANTASY DEBUT

10 New Series or Standalones to Look For in 2015
Lists / December 7, 2014

This time of year runs rampant with lists, which I love. I like to list out books that are coming out that anyone can jump into, books that are either first in a series or stand alone. Narrowing it down was hard, I tried to include variety and there are still many great books coming out that are not on my list (you can see my on-going list for 2015 releases here). So, here are my top 10 picks listed in order of expected release date:   Title: The City Stained Red Author: Sam Sykes Expected publication: January 27th, 2015 (NOTE: The Kindle edition is already available) Publisher: Orbit  The first book in a new trilogy from the acclaimed author of the Aeon’s Gate series. A long-exiled living god arises. A city begins to break apart at the seams. Lenk and his battle-scarred companions have come to Cier’Djaal in search of Miron Evanhands, a wealthy priest who contracted them to eradicate demons — and then vanished before paying for the job. But hunting Miron down might be tougher than even these weary adventurers can handle as two unstoppable religious armies move towards all-out war, tensions rise within the capital’s cultural melting pot, and demons begin…

Five Favorites of 2013 (not published in 2013)
Lists / December 30, 2013

While putting together my 2013 list, I realized there were some amazing books I read this year that were published prior to 2013. So, I decided to make a list in case others have missed these books as well. The Folding Knife by K. J. Parker The Folding Knife by K. J. Parker is so spectacularly different; I can’t help but love it. This is a book that ties in so easily with the modern-day political and economic issues, crises, war.  As much as I enjoyed the book, I have to admit it could get almost a bit dry at points. Almost, but not quite. It could have very easily been dry if done by a different author, but Parker managed to balance all the information, made it interesting, and also inserted a  sardonic sense of humor that really gave the book an edge.  Honestly, I think that detail is part of the reason why I loved the book. To me, this story is so much closer to reality than any other fiction or fantasy book I have read. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness This was a very short, but powerful book about life and loss … and monsters. Absolutely beautfully written. And so touching and heart wrenching. I…

Favorites of 2013
Lists / December 30, 2013

Expected Favorites that Delivered: The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch The Republic of Thieves is one of those books that makes me second guess all the other 5 star ratings I have doled out this year. In some ways it felt very familiar (in a good way) to go back to reading a story by Lynch. Once again, I love his prose. I love the irreverent nature of the Bastards.   NOS4A2 by Joe Hill Joe Hill quickly became a must read author for me this year, and NOS4A2 helped cement that. It is creepy, disturbing, and unexpected in all the best ways. Absolutely love this story and the characters.     Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman I listened to the audiobook of this and it was absolultely wonderful. Gaiman is such a gifted story teller, if you haven’t heard him narrate one of his own books, you really should try one sometime.       The Cormorant by Chuck Wendig I don’t know how Chuck Wendig manages to find that balance of brash irreverence without taking it too far, but he is a master. I loved Blackbirds and really liked Mockingbird, but this third one blew away…

10 New Series/Standalones to Look For in 2014
Lists / December 16, 2013

2014 is coming up, and with it comes a slew of books to look forward to. I had a hard time narrowing down one list, so here  are 10 new series I am looking forward to. I broke it into two sections, the first is favorite authors with new series, the second is a list of new series (or stand alone books) coming out by authors that are new to me. I’ll post another list with my most anticipated sequels. One thing I thought was interesting about this lists that it is exactly gender balanced, 5 male authors and 5 female authors. That was not something I put any thought into, I just noticed as I finished putting the list together and it made me happy to see it even. I’m also definitely happy to see so many exciting new books and authors to look forward to reading next year! I thought about listing why I want to read each one, but decided to let the blurbs speak for themselves. New Series by some of my favorite authors: Title: The Fool’s Assassin(The Fitz and The Fool Trilogy #1) Author: Robin Hobb Expected Publication: April 10th 2014 Publisher: Harper Voyager I don’t have a blurb for…

What new books have caught my eye?
Lists / November 15, 2013

I am always hearing about new books, adding them to my exponentially growing TBR list. So today I thought I would share a few of my most recent discoveries that I am excited about. I am limiting this to books by authors I have not read yet and, at least for now, either very new or upcoming books. Pretty much books that I think other people should hear about if they haven’t already. So, here it is, I’m sharing the joy and maybe adding to someone else’s list of books to read. Title: The Moon’s Artifice Author: Tom Lloyd Publisher: Gollancz Publication Date: November 21, 2013 Blurb: Tom Lloyd kicks off a spectacular new fantasy series, perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Joe Abercrombie and, of course, Tom Lloyd! In a quiet corner of the Imperial City, Investigator Narin discovers the result of his first potentially lethal mistake. Minutes later he makes a second. After an unremarkable career Narin finally has the chance of promotion to the hallowed ranks of the Lawbringers – guardians of the Emperor’s laws and bastions for justice in a world of brutal expediency. Joining that honoured body would be the culmination of a lifelong…