Stacking the Shelves – March 2, 2019

March 2, 2019

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly feature all about sharing your good luck in book acquisitions! So here’s what came my way since my last post!

Received for Review

It’s been another couple of great weeks for book additions! These were all surprise arrivals and 3 of them are ones I


I absolutely loved Torn, it was just a delight to read and I am so looking forward to Fray! Many thanks to Orbit Books!

Stacking the Shelves – March 2, 2019Fray by Rowenna Miller
Also by this author: Torn
Published by Orbit on June 4, 2019
Pages: 496

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

In this epic sequel to Torn, the magical seamstress Sophie Balstrade navigates a royal court and foreign alliances fraught with danger -- and may well have to risk everything for love and for country.

Open revolt has been thwarted -- for now -- but unrest still simmers in the kingdom of Galitha. Sophie, despite having built a thriving business on her skill at both dressmaking and magic, has not escaped unscathed from her misadventures in the workers' rebellion. Her dangerous foray into curse casting has rendered her powers unpredictable, and her increasingly visible romantic entanglement with the Crown Prince makes her a convenient target for threatened nobles and malcontented commoners alike.With domestic political reform and international alliances -- and her own life -- at stake, Sophie must discern friend from foe... before her magic grows too dark for her to wield.

Rowenna Miller's enchanting fantasy series, the Unraveled Kingdom, is perfect for fans of The Queen of the Tearling and Red Queen.

The Unraveled KingdomTornFray


I am not always huge on re-tellings, but this one sounds really intriguing and a good mix of darkness mixed in. My thanks to Berkley for the advanced copy!

Stacking the Shelves – March 2, 2019The Girl in Red by Christina Henry
Published by Berkley on August 13, 2019
Pages: 304

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

From the national bestselling author of Alice comes a postapocalyptic take on the perennial classic "Little Red Riding Hood"...about a woman who isn't as defenseless as she seems.

It's not safe for anyone alone in the woods. There are predators that come out at night: critters and coyotes, snakes and wolves. But the woman in the red jacket has no choice. Not since the Crisis came, decimated the population, and sent those who survived fleeing into quarantine camps that serve as breeding grounds for death, destruction, and disease. She is just a woman trying not to get killed in a world that doesn't look anything like the one she grew up in, the one that was perfectly sane and normal and boring until three months ago.

There are worse threats in the woods than the things that stalk their prey at night. Sometimes, there are men. Men with dark desires, weak wills, and evil intents. Men in uniform with classified information, deadly secrets, and unforgiving orders. And sometimes, just sometimes, there's something worse than all of the horrible people and vicious beasts combined.

Red doesn't like to think of herself as a killer, but she isn't about to let herself get eaten up just because she is a woman alone in the woods....


Creation Machine is new to me, but it does sound like a fun read. Lent is one I have been eyeing as I love the other books I’ve read by Jo Walton. So many thanks to Tor Books for sending these my way!

Stacking the Shelves – March 2, 2019Creation Machine (The Spin Trilogy #1) by Andrew Bannister
Published by Tor Books on March 5, 2019
Pages: 368

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

Creation Machine is a fast-paced, whip-smart science fiction debut from Andrew Bannister introducing the stunning galaxy called the Spin.

In the vast, artificial galaxy called the Spin, a rebellion has been crushed.

Viklun Hass is eliminating all remnants of the opposition. Starting with his daughter.

But Fleare Hass has had time to plan her next move from exile to the very frontiers of a new war.

For hundreds of millions of years, the planets and stars of the Spin have been the only testament to the god-like engineers that created them. Now, beneath the surface of a ruined planet, one of their machines has been found.


Stacking the Shelves – March 2, 2019Lent by Jo Walton
Also by this author: The Just City
Published by Tor on May 28, 2019
Pages: 320

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

From Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy Award-winning Jo Walton comes Lent, a magical re-imagining of the man who remade fifteenth-century Florence—in all its astonishing strangeness

Young Girolamo’s life is a series of miracles.

It’s a miracle that he can see demons, plain as day, and that he can cast them out with the force of his will. It’s a miracle that he’s friends with Pico della Mirandola, the Count of Concordia. It’s a miracle that when Girolamo visits the deathbed of Lorenzo “the Magnificent,” the dying Medici is wreathed in celestial light, a surprise to everyone, Lorenzo included. It’s a miracle that when Charles VIII of France invades northern Italy, Girolamo meets him in the field, and convinces him to not only spare Florence but also protect it. It’s a miracle than whenever Girolamo preaches, crowds swoon. It’s a miracle that, despite the Pope’s determination to bring young Girolamo to heel, he’s still on the loose…and, now, running Florence in all but name.

That’s only the beginning. Because Girolamo Savanarola is not who—or what—he thinks he is. He will discover the truth about himself at the most startling possible time. And this will be only the beginning of his many lives.


This is one I’ve been looking forward to. Maybe because I enjoyed the sewing magic in Torn (and looking forward to Fray), but regardless, it sounds like great fun! Thanks to Random House Children’s Knopf Books for Young Readers

Stacking the Shelves – March 2, 2019Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars #1) by Elizabeth Lim
Also by this author: Spin the Dawn
Published by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers on July 9, 2019
Pages: 416

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she'll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There's just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia's task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.


6 Comments

  • Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum March 3, 2019 at 2:07 am

    I was so excited to get a copy of The Girl in Red too! And I really should check out Torn, glad to hear you liked it so much.

  • Melliane March 3, 2019 at 6:56 am

    I’m curious about the Girl in red ! Happy reading!

  • Tammy @ Books, Bones & Buffy March 3, 2019 at 11:00 am

    I was thrilled to get The Girl in Red as well, I’m so excited!
    Tammy @ Books, Bones & Buffy recently posted…What’s On My Plate – March 2019My Profile

  • Lisa @ waytoofantasy March 5, 2019 at 12:39 pm

    Oooh, you have the new Rowena Miller. I still have to read Torn!
    Also, Spin The Dawn! That one looks so interesting to me. Hope you enjoy!
    Lisa @ waytoofantasy recently posted…Book Review: Minimum Wage Magic by Rachel AaronMy Profile

  • Lindsi March 5, 2019 at 4:33 pm

    The Girl in Red sounds like it will be a really interesting read, like a darker version of Little Red Riding Hood. I also like that she seems perfectly capable of taking care of herself. I hope it’s good!

    Lindsi @ Do You Dog-ear? ?
    Lindsi recently posted…Seafire (Seafire, #1) by Natalie C. ParkerMy Profile

  • Lynn March 8, 2019 at 10:56 am

    I love the cover for the Girl in Red and Lent is a book that I will definitely try to pick up at some point! Mmm, there is no try – only do!
    Lynn 😀