Stacking the Shelves – January 20, 2019

January 20, 2019

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly feature all about sharing your good luck in book acquisitions! So here’s what came my way since my last post!

It’s been another couple of great weeks for book additions!

Received for Review

 


This was a complete surprise. It’s a prequel story about Eleven’s mother, and if there is one character I want to know more about, its obviously Eleven. I’m hoping I find the time to read this one. Many thanks to Del Rey Books!

Stacking the Shelves – January 20, 2019Suspicious Minds by Gwenda Bond
Also by this author: Suspicious Minds
Published by Del Rey Books on February 5, 2019
Pages: 304

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

An upcoming book A mysterious lab. A sinister scientist. A secret history. If you think you know the truth behind Eleven’s mother, prepare to have your mind turned Upside Down in this thrilling prequel to the hit show Stranger Things.

It’s the summer of 1969, and the shock of conflict reverberates through the youth of America, both at home and abroad. As a student at a quiet college campus in the heartland of Indiana, Terry Ives couldn’t be further from the front lines of Vietnam or the incendiary protests in Washington.

But the world is changing, and Terry isn’t content to watch from the sidelines. When word gets around about an important government experiment in the small town of Hawkins, she signs on as a test subject for the project, codenamed MKUltra. Unmarked vans, a remote lab deep in the woods, mind-altering substances administered by tightlipped researchers . . . and a mystery the young and restless Terry is determined to uncover.

But behind the walls of Hawkins National Laboratory—and the piercing gaze of its director, Dr. Martin Brenner—lurks a conspiracy greater than she could have ever imagined. To face it, she’ll need the help of her fellow test subjects, including one so mysterious the world doesn’t know she exists—a young girl with unexplainable, superhuman powers and a number instead of a name: 008.

Amid the rising tensions of the new decade, Terry Ives and Martin Brenner have begun a different kind of war—one where the human mind is the battlefield.


Wow! This was such an exciting package to open. I have really enjoyed the first two books in this series, and am so looking forward to this one!! Thanks to Orbit!

Stacking the Shelves – January 20, 2019The Unbound Empire by Melissa Caruso
Also by this author: The Tethered Mage
Published by Orbit on April 30, 2019
Pages: 560

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

The final volume of the Gemmell Morningstar Award-shortlisted Swords and Fire fantasy trilogy, in which political scion Amalia and her bound fire warlock Zaira must save the Empire from a ruthless, magical enemy. Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, The Queen of the Tearling, and Uprooted.

While winter snows keep the Witch Lord Ruven's invading armies at bay, Lady Amalia Cornaro and the fire warlock Zaira attempt to change the fate of mages in the Raverran Empire forever, earning the enmity of those in power who will do anything to keep all magic under tight imperial control. But in the season of the Serene City's great masquerade, Ruven executes a devastating surprise strike at the heart of the Empire - and at everything Amalia holds most dear.

To stand a chance of defeating Ruven, Amalia and Zaira must face their worst nightmares, expose their deepest secrets, and unleash Zaira's most devastating fire.


Swords and FireThe Tethered MageThe Defiant HeirThe Unbound Empire


This sounds like a fun series, but I’ve not yet read the first one, so it might be a bit until I get to this one. Many thanks to Tor for the copy!

Stacking the Shelves – January 20, 2019They Promised Me the Gun Wasn't Loaded by James Alan Gardner
Published by Tom Doherty Associates Book on November 6, 2018
Pages: 352

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

Award-winning author James Alan Gardner returns to the superheroic fantasy world of All Those Explosions Were Someone Else's Fault with They Promised Me The Gun Wasn't Loaded.

Only days have passed since a freak accident granted four college students superhuman powers. Now Jools and her friends (who haven't even picked out a name for their superhero team yet) get caught up in the hunt for a Mad Genius's misplaced super-weapon.

But when Jools falls in with a modern-day Robin Hood and his band of super-powered Merry Men, she finds it hard to sort out the Good Guys from the Bad Guys--and to figure out which side she truly belongs on.

Especially since nobody knows exactly what the Gun does . . . .


Smoke and Summons was one I hadn’t heard of, but it does sound like a good read. Hoping I might find the time to check it out. Many thanks to 47North and Wunderkind for the copy for review.

Stacking the Shelves – January 20, 2019Smoke and Summons (Numina Trilogy, #1) by Charlie N. Holmberg
Published by 47North on February 1, 2019
Pages: 332

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

A captivating world of monsters and magic from the Wall Street Journal bestselling author of The Paper Magician Series.

As a human vessel for an ancient spirit, Sandis lives no ordinary life. At the command of her master, she can be transformed against her will into his weapon—a raging monster summoned to do his bidding. Unlike other vessels, Sandis can host extremely powerful spirits, but hosting such creatures can be fatal. To stay alive, she must run. And in a city fueled by smoke and corruption, she finds a surprising ally.

A cunning thief for hire, Rone owns a rare device that grants him immortality for one minute every day—a unique advantage that will come in handy in Sandis’s fight for freedom. But Sandis’s master knows how powerful she is. He’s determined to get her back, and he has the manpower to find her, wherever she runs.

Now, to outwit her pursuers, Sandis must put all her trust in Rone and his immortal device. For her master has summoned more than mere men to hunt her down…


It’s been a little while since I’ve read a good dystopian thriller, and this one sounds like it could be a good choice. My thanks to Harper Voyager for the review copy.

Stacking the Shelves – January 20, 2019The Lost Puzzler: The Tarakan Chronicles by Eyal Kless
Published by Harper Voyager on January 8, 2019
Pages: 528

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

A brilliantly written, page-turning, post-dystopian debut from Eyal Kless, about a society hoping to salvage the technology of a lost generation, a mysterious missing boy who can open doors no one else can, and a scribe who must piece together the past to determine humanity’s future.

More than a hundred years have passed since the Catastrophe brought humanity to the brink of extinction. Those who survived are changed. The Wildeners have reverted to the old ways—but with new Gods—while others place their faith in the technology that once powered their lost civilization.

In the mysterious City of Towers, the center of the destroyed Tarakan empire, a lowly scribe of the Guild of Historians is charged with a dangerous assignment. He must venture into the wilds beyond the glass and steel towers to discover the fate of a child who mysteriously disappeared more than a decade before. Born of a rare breed of marked people, the child, Rafik—known as “The Key”—was one of a special few with the power to restore this lost civilization to glory once again.

In a world riven by fear and violence, where tattooed mutants, manic truckers, warring guilds and greedy mercenaries battle for survival, this one boy may have singlehandedly destroyed humanity’s only chance for salvation—unless the scribe can figure out what happened to him.

 


Dark Fire looks to be a 6th in series that I’ve not read any of, so I am unlikely to get to this one soon, unless I hear that it could be read as a standalone (which is very rarely the case). My thanks to Avon books for sending the book.

Dark Fire (Dark, #6) by Christine Feehan
Published by Avon on December 24, 2018
Pages: 390

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

There is always a price to pay...

So Darius warned her when she accepted a position with his traveling troupe. And gazing mesmerized at the merciless slash of his mouth, the implacable resolve on his face, the soulless emptiness of his black eyes, Tempest was afraid to ask what it was.

She had always been different, apart from others. From the moment his arms closed around her, enveloping her in a sorcerer's spell, Darius seemed to understand her unique gifts. But did his kiss offer the love and belonging she sought, or a danger more potent than his own panthers?

Somewhere deep inside herself, Tempest realized she knew the answer. She had no choice but to accept the velvet stroke of his tongue, submit to the white-hot heat piercing her skin, welcome an erotic pleasure like no other….

Last but certainly not least was an exciting surprise package from Tor. This was a “thank you” for participating in the FearlessWomen campaign, which was so much fun! It’s a signed copy of Vengeful, a set of vengeful pins and a FearlessWomen tote. Thanks so much to Tor for their generosity!!

Stacking the Shelves – January 20, 2019Vengeful (Villains, #2) Published by Tor Books on September 25, 2018
Pages: 478

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

Eli Ever and Victor Vale were only medical students when their mutual discovery that near-death experiences can, under the right conditions, manifest extraordinary abilities.

They were best friends, and rivals, and then enemies. They were dead, then alive, and then---Eli killed Victor, once and for all.

Or so he thought---but Sydney Clarke felt otherwise, and used her own superpower to tip the scales. Now, a trio hides in the shadows, while another takes advantages of post-death life to take over the city of Merit.

If there can be life after death—will there be calm after vengeance, or will chaos rule?


10 Comments