Top 5 Tuesday – Top 5 Books I Didn’t Get To In 2018

A weekly meme hosted by Bionic Book Worm where we list 5 books for the given topic. We all love lists, right?

Top 5 Books I Didn’t Get To In 2018

So, this has admittedly been a slower than normal year for me reading wise. That means the number of books I haven’t gotten to that I REALLY REALLY wish I had is bigger. When making this list, I noticed all my top choices were subsequent books in series I’ve already started and love. I think maybe that’s because I am familiar enough with it to know what I’m missing by not having read them yet. I know I loved the initial books, so I just feel I’m missing out even more than a completely new to me author/series.

 


Top 5 Tuesday – Top 5 Books I Didn’t Get To In 2018Blood of the Gods (The Ascension Cycle #2) by David Mealing
Also by this author: Soul of the World
Published by Orbit on August 21, 2018
Pages: 736

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

The battle is over, but war lies ahead in the second book of the epic fantasy trilogy that pits humans against gods in a contest for the fate of the world.

The battle for the city is over, but the aftermath of a revolution is never simple...

Sarine begins to experience visions, ones which make her dragon familiar sicker every day. Erris pushes toward conquest and the need to expand her territory and restore her power. And, exiled from his tribe, Arak'Jur apprentices himself to a deadly master.

Faced with the threat of a return to the days of darkness, the heroes begin to understand the depth of the sacrifices required from them. To protect their world, they'll have to stand and fight once more.
Read this second book in this gripping, vibrant, and imaginative addition to the epic fantasy canon for readers of Brandon Sanderson, Brian McClellan, and Miles Cameron.

The Ascension CycleSoul of the WorldBlood of the Gods


Top 5 Tuesday – Top 5 Books I Didn’t Get To In 2018The Tower of Living and Dying (Empires of Dust #2) by Anna Smith Spark
Also by this author: The Court of Broken Knives
Published by Orbit on August 7, 2018
Pages: 514

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

A powerhouse story of bloodshed, ambition, and fate, The Tower of Living and Dying is a continuation of Anna Smith Spark's brilliant Empires of Dust trilogy, which began with The Court of Broken Knives.

Marith has been a sellsword, a prince, a murderer, a demon, and dead. But something keeps bringing him back to life, and now there is nothing stopping him from taking back the throne that is rightfully his.

Thalia, the former high priestess, remains Marith's only tenuous grasp to whatever goodness he has left. His left hand and his last source of light, Thalia still believes that the power that lies within him can be used for better ends. But as more forces gather beneath Marith's banner, she can feel her influence slipping.

Read the second book in this "gritty and glorious!" (Miles Cameron) epic fantasy series reminiscent of Joe Abercrombie and Mark Lawrence where the exiled son of a king fights to reclaim his throne no matter the cost.

Empires of DustThe Court of Broken KnivesThe Tower of Living and Dying


Top 5 Tuesday – Top 5 Books I Didn’t Get To In 2018Record of a Spaceborn Few (Wayfarers, #3) by Becky Chambers
Also by this author: The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet
Published by Harper Voyager on July 24, 2018
Pages: 368

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

Return to the sprawling universe of the Galactic Commons, as humans, artificial intelligence, aliens, and some beings yet undiscovered explore what it means to be a community in this exciting third adventure in the acclaimed and multi-award-nominated science fiction Wayfarers series, brimming with heartwarming characters and dazzling space adventure.

Hundreds of years ago, the last humans on Earth boarded the Exodus Fleet in search of a new home among the stars. After centuries spent wandering empty space, their descendants were eventually accepted by the well-established species that govern the Milky Way.

But that was long ago. Today, the Exodus Fleet is a living relic, the birthplace of many, yet a place few outsiders have ever visited. While the Exodans take great pride in their original community and traditions, their culture has been influenced by others beyond their bulkheads. As many Exodans leave for alien cities or terrestrial colonies, those who remain are left to ponder their own lives and futures: What is the purpose of a ship that has reached its destination? Why remain in space when there are habitable worlds available to live? What is the price of sustaining their carefully balanced way of life—and is it worth saving at all?

A young apprentice, a lifelong spacer with young children, a planet-raised traveler, an alien academic, a caretaker for the dead, and an Archivist whose mission is to ensure no one’s story is forgotten, wrestle with these profound universal questions. The answers may seem small on the galactic scale, but to these individuals, it could mean everything.


Top 5 Tuesday – Top 5 Books I Didn’t Get To In 2018The Fated Sky (Lady Astronaut, #2) by Mary Robinette Kowal
Also by this author: Ghost Talkers
Published by Tor Books on August 21, 2018
Pages: 371

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

Of course the noted Lady Astronaut Elma York would like to go, but there’s a lot riding on whoever the International Aerospace Coalition decides to send on this historic—but potentially very dangerous—mission? Could Elma really leave behind her husband and the chance to start a family to spend several years traveling to Mars? And with the Civil Rights movement taking hold all over Earth, will the astronaut pool ever be allowed to catch up, and will these brave men and women of all races be treated equitably when they get there? This gripping look at the real conflicts behind a fantastical space race will put a new spin on our visions of what might have been.


Top 5 Tuesday – Top 5 Books I Didn’t Get To In 2018Priest of Bones (War for the Rose Throne #1) by Peter McLean
Published by Ace Books on October 2, 2018
Pages: 352

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

It's a dangerous thing, to choose the lesser of two evils.

The war is over, and army priest Tomas Piety finally heads home with Lieutenant Bloody Anne at his side. When he arrives in the Stink, Tomas finds that his empire of crime has been stolen from him while at war. With his gang of Pious Men, Tomas will do whatever it takes to reclaim his businesses. But when he finds himself dragged into a web of political intrigue once again, and is forced to work in secret for the sinister Queen's Men, everything gets more complicated.

When loyalties stretch to the breaking point and violence only leads to violence, when people have run out of food, and hope, and places to hide, do not be surprised if they have also run out of mercy. As the Pious Men fight shadowy foreign infiltrators in the backstreet taverns and gambling dens of Tomas's old life it becomes clear; the war is not over.

It is only just beginning.


What are the books you most regret not finding the time to read this year?

13 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday – Top 5 Books I Didn’t Get To In 2018”

  1. Record of a Spaceborn Few easily could have made my list! I’ve heard great things about it and I LOVE the authors writing!! Thanks for participating – sorry for not getting you added immediately!

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: