Waiting on Wednesday – City of Lies by Sam Hawke

November 22, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine to let us share our excitement for books coming out soon.

I think they had me at Robin Hobb. Then they mentioned poisons and treachery and so, yes, I want to read this book!

 

City of Lies (Poison Wars, #1) by Sam Hawke
Also by this author: City of Lies
on July 3rd 2018
Pages: 512

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

This amazing epic fantasy debut is perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Naomi Novik.

I was seven years old the first time my uncle poisoned me… Outwardly, Jovan is the lifelong friend of the Chancellor’s charming, irresponsible Heir. Quiet. Forgettable. In secret, he’s a master of poisons and chemicals, trained to protect the Chancellor’s family from treachery. When the Chancellor succumbs to an unknown poison and an army lays siege to the city, Jovan and his sister Kalina must protect the Heir and save their city-state. But treachery lurks in every corner, and the ancient spirits of the land are rising…and angry.

7 Comments

  • sjhigbee November 22, 2017 at 6:18 am

    I really like the sound of this one – with an uncle like that, you really don’t need enemies, do you? I hope you enjoy this one, Lisa:)

  • Tammy @Books, Bones & Buffy November 22, 2017 at 9:18 am

    Oh yeah, I just saw this. Looks great!

  • Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum November 22, 2017 at 11:09 pm

    I’m quite curious about this one too!

    • Lisa (@TenaciousReader) December 4, 2017 at 7:02 pm

      It sounds like it has the potential to be a fun, addictive read. Hoping it lives up to my expectations!

  • Lynn December 5, 2017 at 4:31 pm

    I’d not seen this one before but I think I’d like this so thanks.
    Lynn 😀