Stacking the Shelves

December 19, 2015

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly feature all about sharing your good luck in book acquisitions! So here’s what came my way since my last post!

It’s been another couple of great weeks for book additions! I don’t even know where to start!

Received for Review

 

MonstressCover2

TheRisingCover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I admit, I don’t read many comics. But when I saw the art for Monstress by Marjorie Liu, I had to read it. So many thanks to Image Comics for the review copy! This is absolutely stunning!

Monstress #1 by Marjorie M. Liu
Illustrator: Sana Takeda
Also by this author: Monstress #1
Published by Image Comics on November 4th 2015
Pages: 72

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

Steampunk meets Kaiju in this original fantasy epic for mature readers, as young Maika risks everything to control her psychic link with a monster of tremendous power, placing her in the center of a devastating war between human and otherworldly forces.

I loved The Mechanical, so The Rising by Ian Tregillis was on my must read (or rather listen as I went audiobook with this series) list. Many thanks to Hachette Audio for the review copy!

The Rising (The Alchemy Wars, #2) by Ian Tregillis
Also by this author: The Mechanical
Published by Hachette Audio on December 1st 2015
Pages: 480

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

The second book in the Alchemy Wars trilogy by Ian Tregillis, an epic tale of liberation and war. Jax, a rogue Clakker, has wreaked havoc upon the Clockmakers' Guild by destroying the Grand Forge. Reborn in the flames, he must begin his life as a free Clakker, but liberation proves its own burden.
Berenice, formerly the legendary spymaster of New France, mastermind behind her nation's attempts to undermine the Dutch Hegemony -- has been banished from her homeland and captured by the Clockmakers Guild's draconian secret police force.Meanwhile, Captain Hugo Longchamp is faced with rallying the beleaguered and untested defenders of Marseilles-in-the-West for the inevitable onslaught from the Brasswork Throne and its army of mechanical soldiers.

 

TheWolfRoadCover-UK

DragonRoundCover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I just love the sound of The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis!! I get the impression it may be a more literary choice, which I really enjoy. I’m showing the UK cover because I don’t believe the US one has been released yet. Many thanks to Crown for the review copy!
The Wolf Road: A Novel by Beth Lewis
Also by this author: The Wolf Road
Published by Crown on July 5th 2016
Pages: 352

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

True Grit meets The Road in this postapocalyptic psychological thriller--narrated by a young girl who has just learned that her adopted father may be a serial killer, and that she may be his next victim.
In the remote wilds of a ravaged land, Elka has been raised by a man who isn't her father. Since finding her wandering in the woods when she was seven, he has taught her how to hunt, shoot, set snares and start fires--everything she needs to survive. All she knows of the world outside is gleaned from whispers of a cataclysmic event that turned the clock back on civilization by a hundred and fifty years and reduced governments and technology to shambles, leaving men at the mercy of the elements--and each other. 
Everything changes when Elka learns that the man she has been calling father is harboring a terrible secret. Armed with nothing but her knife and her wiles, she decides to escape his clutches and sets out on a long journey to the frozen north in the hope of finding her long-lost parents. 
But as the trail of blood and bodies grows in her path, Elka realizes that daddy won't be letting his little girl go without a fight. If she's going to survive, she'll have to turn and confront not just him, but the truth about what he's turned her into.

The Dragon Round by Stephen S. Power sounds like an incredibly fun book! We all need that at times. So excited to get an early copy. Thanks to Simon & Schuster!!

The Dragon Round by Stephen S. Power
Published by Simon & Schuster on July 19th 2016
Pages: 432

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

A swashbuckling adventure with a dark side for fans of George R.R. Martin and Naomi Novik—when a ship captain is stranded on a deserted island by his mutinous crew, he finds a baby dragon that just might be the key to his salvation…and his revenge.
He only wanted justice. Instead he got revenge.
Jeryon has been the captain of the Comber for over a decade. He knows the rules. He likes the rules. But not everyone on his ship agrees. After a monstrous dragon attacks the galley, the surviving crewmembers decide to take the ship for themselves and give Jeryon and his self-righteous apothecary “the captain’s chance”: a small boat with no rudder, no sails, and nothing but the clothes on his back to survive on the open sea.
Fighting for their lives against the elements, Jeryon and his companion land on an island that isn’t as deserted as they originally thought. They find a baby dragon that, if trained, could be their way home. But as Jeryon and the dragon grow closer, the captain begins to realize that even if he makes it off the island, his old life won't be waiting for him and in order get justice, he’ll have to take it for himself.
From a Pushcart Prize–nominated poet and speculative short story writer, The Dragon Round combines a rich world, desperate characters, and gorgeous, literary fiction into a timeless tale of revenge.

 

 

DevilYouKnowCoverSongForNoMansLandCoverForestOfMemory

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And once again, Tor.com is very, very generous. I was sent copies of the following three novellas, and have to admit, I may have already had to start The Devil You Know even though the release date is so far away. Also? These covers? Love them. Especially A Song for No Man’s Land. Many thanks to Tor.com!

The Devil You Know Published by Tor.com on March 1st 2016
Pages: 112

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

The greatest philosopher of all time is offering to sell his soul to the Devil. All he wants is twenty more years to complete his life’s work. After that, he really doesn’t care.
But the assistant demon assigned to the case has his suspicions, because the philosopher is Saloninus–the greatest philosopher, yes, but also the greatest liar, trickster and cheat the world has yet known; the sort of man even the Father of Lies can’t trust.
He’s almost certainly up to something; but what?

A Song for No Man's Land by Andy Remic
on February 9th 2016

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

He signed up to fight with visions of honour and glory, of fighting for king and country, of making his family proud at long last.
But on a battlefield during the Great War, Robert Jones is shot, and wonders how it all went so very wrong, and how things could possibly get any worse.
He'll soon find out. When the attacking enemy starts to shapeshift into a nightmarish demonic force, Jones finds himself fighting an impossible war against an enemy that shouldn't exist.
A Song for No Man's Land is the first in an ongoing series.

Forest of Memory by Mary Robinette Kowal
Also by this author: Ghost Talkers
Published by Tor.com on March 8th 2016

 LibraryThing button-amazon book-depository-button audible-button

Katya deals in Authenticities and Captures, trading on nostalgia for a past long gone. Her clients are rich and they demand items and experiences with only the finest verifiable provenance. Other people’s lives have value, after all.
But when her A.I. suddenly stops whispering in her ear she finds herself cut off from the grid and loses communication with the rest of the world.
The man who stepped out of the trees while hunting deer cut her off from the cloud, took her A.I. and made her his unwilling guest.
There are no Authenticities or Captures to prove Katya’s story of what happened in the forest. You’ll just have to believe her…

 

12 Comments