Tenacious Reader Blog

1

Women in SF&F Month – Guest Post on Fantasy Cafe

Today you can find me at Fantasy Cafe  talking about women authors in the Speculative Fiction genre and how we can encourage them. For those not familiar, each year Fantasy Cafe reserves the month of April to highlight the women in Science Fiction and Fantasy. It’s a wonderful feature and a great way to celebrate some of the authors you may have missed...

12

Stacking the Shelves – April 23, 2016

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly feature all about sharing your good luck in book acquisitions! So here’s what came my way since my last post! I didn’t have a chance to get this post together last week, so there are SO MANY GREAT books to showcase this time!! Received for Review   Children of Earth and Sky by Guy Gavriel...

4

Audiobook Review: Fellside by M. R. Carey

Fellside is haunting and unique and at times, quite grim. Once I was hooked, I was firmly hooked. Our introduction to the protagonist is memorable and it takes a little time for both her and for us the readers to piece together the story of what brought her to that initial scene in the book. Turns out, our protagonist is...

11

Review: Eleanor by Jason Gurley

Eleanor is an emotional journey of a book, a journey that takes you to some dark and uncomfortable places. But don’t let that scare you away, because the author did an amazing job balancing the darker parts. It was actually a touching and magical story that happened to have some sad, tragic and painful elements. Eleanor and Esmerelda were inseparable...

10

Review: Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

When I saw the description of this book, I was definitely intrigued. A Western Fantasy with a sharp-shooting female protagonist? Oh, yes please! I couldn’t help but immediately think of Wake of Vultures, which I loved and had hopes of loving this one just as much. So, how did it hold up to my expectations? Well, it was a fun...

9

Audiobook Review: Snakewood by Adrian Selby

Oh, this is not an easy review to write. Ultimately, this is a book I wanted to love, or at least like, but truthfully I struggled with it. I will say, I enjoyed all the words as they were written, I felt the prose was incredibly well done. So while reading any given page I felt like I was enjoying the...

7

Review: City of Blades by Robert Jackson Bennett

For fans of City of Stairs, I think you’ll be happy with this next installment. Particularly if you were a fan of Mulagesh. I myself just wasn’t quite as into it. I know it feels like everyone has loved this book. And by all means, I think the writing is solid. But I struggled to get into the beginning. Honestly,...