Waiting on Wednesday – The Gracekeepers

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine to let us share our excitement for books coming out soon.

I have to admit, this is a bit different from my typical choices, but often different it good. Very good. So when I saw the recommendation for fans of The Night Circus and Station Eleven (both of which I loved), I decided I had to read this one! I also love the ending line of the blurb: “The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.”

Title: The Gracekeepers

Author: Kirsty Logan

Expected publication: May 19th, 2015

Publisher: Crown Publishing

goodreads-badge-add-38px

 

 

For readers of The Night Circus and Station Eleven, a lyrical and absorbing debut set in a world covered by water

As a Gracekeeper, Callanish administers shoreside burials, laying the dead to their final resting place deep in the depths of the ocean. Alone on her island, she has exiled herself to a life of tending watery graves as penance for a long-ago mistake that still haunts her. Meanwhile, North works as a circus performer with the Excalibur, a floating troupe of acrobats, clowns, dancers, and trainers who sail from one archipelago to the next, entertaining in exchange for sustenance.

In a world divided between those inhabiting the mainland (“landlockers”) and those who float on the sea (“damplings”), loneliness has become a way of life for North and Callanish, until a sudden storm offshore brings change to both their lives–offering them a new understanding of the world they live in and the consequences of the past, while restoring hope in an unexpected future.

Inspired in part by Scottish myths and fairytales, The Gracekeepers tells a modern story of an irreparably changed world: one that harbors the same isolation and sadness, but also joys and marvels of our own age.

You may also like...

7 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday – The Gracekeepers”

  1. Oh, I love the sound of this! I’m a such a water and ice person, and this… sadness and beauty, I’m already in love with this! Thanks so much for sharing, it’s a great pick!

  2. Oh yes, this one where I knew there was a girl on the cover but forgot the title thinking there was the word “Secret” in it but there was not 😉 Yeah I am very curious about this one, looking forward to your thoughts!

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: